Hello, New to OH!

harmerel194
on 10/2/11 1:35 pm
Hi Everyone, My name is Ellen and I'm new to OH! I'm currently in the process of heading towards my WLS. I have my seminar and first appointment/screening with my doctor on October 12. I was just wondering what i should be expecting from the seminar and from the inital appointment and screening! I'm very excited :D
gods_girl67
on 10/2/11 2:48 pm - Wasaga Beach, Canada
RNY on 03/27/12
Hi! I am new to this process too so I can`t offer a lot in the way of what to expect other than the orientation seminar. At my Centre (in Canada), the dietitian did the seminar. She gave a general overview of: our current digestive system, the sugery and the digestive system after surgery, what to expect in terms of diet for the first 6 weeks post-op, the importance of exercise, possible complications, process from referral to surgery, approximate time frame and an opportunity to ask questions.
I have an appointment with the surgeon on Wednesday.
I too am excited and ready to get on with it---i know how you feel!

referral: aug 2011; general orientation: Sept 26, 2011; surgeon appt: Oct 5, 2011;
GB Class: Oct 18, 2011; SW & RN: Oct 20, 2011; Dietitian: Nov 14, 2011;
Dietitian: Jan 9, 2012; Surgeon appt: Feb 2, 2012; Optifast start: Mar 6, 2012
Surgery Date: Mar 27, 2012
AnneGG
on 10/2/11 10:17 pm
Welcome!!!

Have a great appt- find out lots and ask lots of questions!

You also might want to explore this site- lots of good info and support here!

"What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls the butterfly." Richard Bach

"Support fosters your growth. If you are getting enough of the right support, you will experience a major transformation in yourself. You will discover a sense of empowerment and peace you have never before experienced. You will come to believe you can overcome your challenges and find some joy in this world." Katie Jay

MsBatt
on 10/3/11 1:28 am