Surgery on the Obese -- The Greater Challenges to Doctors

Whacka Doodle
on 1/1/12 2:29 am
Last month there was a discussion here about some mean doctor who had published jokes about the challenges of operating on / treating the obese.

Many people were seriously offended, and the otherwise widely respected doctor was strong-armed into apologizing.

THIS ARTICLE FROM THE WALL STREET JOURNAL
, by surgeon Paul Ruggieri, points out the additional difficulties of surgery on obese patients (among other things).

So ... any thoughts? 

Interested in low-carb nutrition?  Thinking of trying Atkins? Want to try high-fat and/or high-protein eating?  Whether or not you have had (or are thinking about) WLS   http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/atkins/   

Mom4Jazz
on 1/1/12 3:15 am
Stating medical fact is one thing. Mocking, ridiculing and belittling is an entirely different thing.

If I'm a medical professional who deals with the mentally handicapped and start making "retard" jokes, I deserve to be strong-armed into apologizing, even if the "facts" in the jokes were accurate. Same applies here.

Highest weight: 335 lbs, BMI 50.9
Pre-op weight: 319 lbs, BMI 48.5
Current range: 140-144, BMI 21.3 - 22

175+ lbs lost, maintaining since February 2012

Whacka Doodle
on 1/1/12 5:37 am
I think you make some very good points.  And it goes to show how subjective things are with respect to criticism and mockery, because I had not perceived that with the previous physician's published remarks, at all.  (Wish I could find that darned link.)

Interested in low-carb nutrition?  Thinking of trying Atkins? Want to try high-fat and/or high-protein eating?  Whether or not you have had (or are thinking about) WLS   http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/atkins/   

poet_kelly
on 1/1/12 6:29 am - OH
The "facts" in this guy's jokes were not facts at all.  They were just insults.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly