Bariatric vitamins which brand the best?

seanbear66rn
on 3/26/12 8:52 am - Dracut, MA
VSG on 04/06/12
 I am looking to get vitamins for my upcoming surgery on April 6th ....need pointers...and sorry if this question is asked A Lot !!
Sean  

YOU CANNOT GIVE SOMEONE HELP........YOU CAN OFFER HELP,  IT IS UP TO THE OTHER PERSON TO ACCEPT  OR REJECT IT !!!

poet_kelly
on 3/26/12 8:56 am - OH
Any adult multi vitamin with 100% of the RDA of most stuff in it is fine, according to the ASMBS.  If you want a bariatric vitamin, Celebrate or Bariatric Advantage are good choices.  Some other brands marketed to bariatric patients really don't have all the stuff we need in them.

As far as other vitamins, what you need depends on which surgery you are having.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Valerie G.
on 3/26/12 9:08 am - Northwest Mountains, GA
 Bariatric vitamins are way overpriced.  With a VSG, you have no malabsorption, so a Centrum and extra calcium citrate should suit you just fine.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

nicoleista
on 3/26/12 1:49 pm - MI
VSG on 03/05/12
I thought we did have some malabsorption?

Valerie G.
on 3/27/12 2:45 am, edited 3/27/12 2:48 am - Northwest Mountains, GA
The VSG is simply a stomach size reduction. Albeit smaller, your stomach is in working order the way that nature intended, and your intestines aren't touched, so you absorb normally everything you eat.

That being said, you won't be able to eat enough to sustain optimal nutritional health for a long time, which is why vitamins are important, however, normal vitamins and normal dosage is all you need.

Valerie