OT: Information wanted on Canning/Freezing Fruits & Veggies

shutterbugjunkie
on 8/6/12 9:25 am
RNY on 02/04/11 with
Hi, all! I've never canned or frozen fruits & veggies before, but I'd definitely like to give it a try. If anyone has any recipes, hints, tips, suggestions, etc for a total newbie, please help me out! Feel free to email me directly at [email protected] if you have recipes you'd like to send. Thanks so much!
  SW/258.5 Surgery Weight/249 CW/149.5 GW/140

Louise1974
on 8/6/12 1:00 pm
Hi!  I can and freeze lots and lots.  Freezing is really easy.  Canning takes a bit.  I don't have specific recipes or hints just encouragement.  It is easy.  Especially freezing.  My big secret tip is:  depending on the veggie steam till just bright, just for a minute or two and then pop in a freezer bag, take a straw and use it to suck all the air out of the freezer bag and then quickly seal it.  Way cheaper than those air lock gizmos and works just as well.  Have fun!!!!!
loretta cowels
on 8/6/12 8:56 pm - MI
RNY on 04/16/12
freezing and canning is really easy most things you can freeze as is. the canning you just need a few hints its all about acid content tomatoes have a high acid so you can make salsa or just tomatoes by putting the cans in a big pot making sure lids are covered and boil. you can do this for green beans soups etc . with fruit you need to add a little lemon juice to get some acid to it. Other wise the fruit may turn brown. Canning takes alot of time so i switched to freezing. loretta
Valerie G.
on 8/6/12 9:34 pm - Northwest Mountains, GA
 "Ball" (a canning jar company) has a canning book that is revered as the canning bible.  It's more of a magazine than a book and only costs around $5.   I saw it recently at Walmart when I was picking up some canning jars, so you can still get it.  This is a great start for techniques as well as some recipes.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes