I used to wonder if I would ever be able to enjoy food again

Barbara C.
on 9/26/12 4:56 am - Raleigh, NC

I'm more than 5 years post op now and I've always been a bit of a foodie. I often joke that I was like a Jewish Paula Deen before surgery. Not meaning to toot my own horn, but I have been a pretty good cook for many years. The thing is that much of what I made was very similar in many ways to the types of things Paula Deen made. When you cross someone who was raised in the south with someone who has a Jewish heritage, you have a recipe... or many recipe that are laden with fats and carbs.

When I was considering surgery, I wondered if I would ever be able enjoy cooking and more than that eating again. Well, more than 5 years after my surgery, the answer is a resounding yes. I have to say that I don't eat or cook diet food. I want whatever I eat to be wonderfully flavorful and not a second rate substitute in terms of flavor or texture. This is a large part of what has allowed me to maintain my weight. I have found ways to eat what I want, enjoy it and maintain my weight. That said, I must admit that I have made a number of changes and adjustments in the ways that I prepare foods. Sources such as Cooking Light have been invaluable to me as I have learned leaner and lighter techniques that allow me to enjoy old favorites as well as broadening my horizons as I've added new favorites to my repertoire.

Below, is a recipe for Breakfast Quiche Bites. They are a great way to get in the protein in a flavorful, yet healthy way. I often tweak it one direction or another, but the premise is the same for them. Consider trying these as a way to enjoy a wonderful breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also know that they travel and reheat well. While they are great for breakfast when you are in a hurry, I often have two of these with a salad for dinner.

http://img4-1.myrecipes.timeinc.net/i/recipes/oh/12/breakfast-quiche-bites-oh-l.jpg

Breakfast Quiche Bites from Cooking Light