Vegetarianism?

horrible_monster
on 10/5/12 12:47 pm
VSG on 02/27/13
 Hello! Totally new here and overwhelmed. Dozens of questions are percolating in my poor brain. So I'll pick one out of the ether:

Vegetarianism: is this a plausible thing for people who have had bariatric surgery?

Thanks!

I have a basement but don't dwell in it full time.

kathkeb
on 10/5/12 1:14 pm
It depends on the surgery type.

With malabsorption it is very difficult to get enough protein, but has been done.

With restrictive surgeries it is easier to manage.
Kath

poet_kelly
on 10/6/12 3:04 am - OH
It's not that difficult.  I had RNY and eat no meat and I easily get about 90 grams of protein a day.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

PoohHag
on 10/5/12 1:18 pm - TN
VSG on 06/11/12
 My NUT says it can be done.  Veganism however would be much harder.
Jackie McGee
on 10/6/12 12:59 am - PA
Harder, but also possible if you know what to eat. I was 100% vegan before surgery and 1 1/2 years post-surgery and did wonderfully.

...then I got pregnant and craved burgers and never looked back...

But veganism is possible. It just takes a lot of work, research, food preparation and dedication.

Proud mama of Mischa and Gabriel, both born post-op.

(deactivated member)
on 10/5/12 1:42 pm
 I am a  near vegetarian...  not out of philosophy or trying to diet , just cuz I skeeve meat , dairy products eggs and fish most of the time.  

I am 4 years post  RNY and  maintaining my weight and labs just fine on mostly  rice n beans .  

Incidentally , rice , beans , tofu , vegan almond milk cheeses and  fresh homegrown organic veggies (  and protein shakes yum! ) are utterly delicious.... 

horrible_monster