I got medicaid, now what ?

browneyes65
on 7/1/13 1:20 am - IN

I already have Medicare and I went last Friday to my appointment and they said I qualified for Medicaid so can the Dr's office check into the coverage to see if they will cover the surgery because I don't know what is the next step ? Thanks

poet_kelly
on 7/1/13 2:59 am - OH

I'm a bit confused.  You have Medicare.  Do you have Medicaid or you think you qualify for Medicaid?  If you don't already have Medicaid, you must apply for it.  Your doctor's office can't apply for you.  You need to contact the Department of Human Services or whatever they call it in your state (it's the same place you apply for food stamps) and complete an application.  I had to reapply recently when I moved to another county within the same state.  It took about a month for it to get approved.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

kitkat88
on 7/1/13 5:00 am - Metairie, LA
RNY on 11/18/13

If you are approved for Medicaid the state will send you paperwork about medicaid and  a ID card when you get your ID card (its a lil different in each state) but I had to choose which insurance company I wanted that medicaid went through(like United health Care, Amerigroup, etc) Then set up a appointment with PCP get a referral for WLS and start contacting or ask your PCP what surgeons will do accept medicaid.

browneyes65
on 7/1/13 6:50 am - IN