I haven't had any illness since surgery...

AnniesSS
on 7/26/13 11:15 am
RNY on 09/11/12

...but now I have a head cold and a nose that won't stop running!

I work in an elementary school and every year, without fail, I get at least strep, a head cold and either bronchitis, or the flu.  Since I had my surgery, I haven't had so much as a stuffy nose - until last night!  Granted, it's mild, but I was enjoying not being sick, like i have in the past!

I've been bragging for a few months about how healthy I've felt and that I haven't gotten sick. I really think that eating all of the processed food that I used to before surgery contributed to my lack of an immune system!  Eating healthier has made my body healthier and i guess, better able to fight the bugs and viruses.

My school is a year-round school, so I've had a slew of new kids in over the past 3 weeks, so I guess it was bound to happen - one of them shared too much with me! lol  But again, this is minor and will pass in a few days. :)

Has anyone else experienced this lack of illnesses?? :) Hope so!

Annie  HW 289   SW 257   GW 150

Eggface
on 7/26/13 7:12 pm - Sunny Southern, CA

In the 7 years since RNY I've been sick only a handful of times... not sure about the processed food I'm thinking all the vitamins I do now faithfully wards the creeping crud off. Vitamins pre-op were from food sources or occasionally I'd buy a bottle and do them but they were hit and miss... now 7 years faithfully.

That being said... on the rare times I have gotten sick it's taken waaaaay longer to recover and for meds to kick in. So pre-op I'd get a Z-pack and be feeling a bit better by day 2/3 now I can finish the z-pack and still be feeling crummy for days after. Absorption issue in my non-Dr. opinion.

Feel better!! Lots of fluids... pretty easy for us to get dehydrated without being sick let alone when we are ;)

~Michelle "Shelly"

Weight Loss Surgery Friendly Recipes & Rambling
www.theworldaccordingtoeggface.com

MsBatt