Going to Mexico for Surgery?

asfgsp
on 1/16/14 10:18 pm - Willow Grove, PA

Is it really safe to go to Mexico for these lower cost surgeries? I see and read a lot of people doing it but I have also heard about a lot of scams abroad or doctors who are not qualified.  Has anyone gone  to Mexico for a procedure?

poet_kelly
on 1/16/14 10:44 pm - OH

Yes, some people have gone to Mexico for a procedure.  I think it is safe as long as you choose your doctor carefully and make sure he is qualified and that the hospital is fully equipped to deal with emergencies.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Eggface
on 1/16/14 11:35 pm - Sunny Southern, CA

I had 3 surgeries in Mexico (RNY and 2 rounds of plastics) I felt safe and the care was better than experiences I have had in the states. There are good and bad Dr's, hospitals though and research is key (there is a Mexico forum here on OH BTW.) It is not for every one... if you have been readmitted post surgeries in the past or have known issues that have made recovery from surgery problematic perhaps being close to home would be a better option. It is also not always the cheaper option depending on how far you need to travel, how long you stay. Never use $ cost as the deciding factor.

Best to you in your research,

~Michelle "Shelly"

Weight Loss Surgery Friendly Recipes & Rambling
www.theworldaccordingtoeggface.com

Valerie G.
on 1/17/14 5:11 am - Northwest Mountains, GA