3.5 years post VSG have gained 50% weight loss

Hello everyone! I posted here so often in 2010, the year I had my WLS. I've really missed everyone. I did so well for the first couple of years but started eating sweets and carbs very slowly but more and more over time. I also stopped going to follow ups with my wonderful surgeon after about the first 18 mos. I'm just sick about my weight gain. Do you think my sleeve might be stretched or enlarged?

Am hoping another surgery might correct this, but have a feeling I'm going to have to change my diet. Radically. I'm SO upset by this, took me months just to come back here to post.

Lucy van Pelt 
 Highest 255 Surgery 248 Current 170
Goal: 150

White Dove
on 3/18/14 12:29 am - Warren, OH

If you want to lose weight, you will need to change your diet.  I am not a big proponent of going back to basics, simply because basics are boring and most people will not stick to basics.

You need to find a diet that will work for you and that will make you lose weight again.  I can't tell by your post how much weight you need to lose.  If you can cut out 500 calories a day, then you will lose about one pound a week.  Twenty pounds will take 20 weeks, fifty pounds will take 50 weeks.

Even if you have another surgery, you will have to eat the correct number of calories to lose and then to maintain.  Weigh****chers might be a good choice for you now.

Gwen M.
on 3/18/14 1:21 am
VSG on 03/13/14

I did so well for the first couple of years but started eating sweets and carbs very slowly but more and more over time. I also stopped going to follow ups with my wonderful surgeon after about the first 18 mos.

It sounds like you know exactly what you need to do!  Stop eating the sweets and carbs and followup with your surgeon.  You can do it!  

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016