Straws or no straws, that is the question

mimiof2wins
on 3/18/14 1:01 pm, edited 3/18/14 1:33 pm - CA
RNY on 01/16/14

Straws or no straws, that is the question!  I find it easier to drink my quota of liquid when I use a straw. My surgeon says no but what do you all do?

MyLady Heidi
on 3/18/14 6:14 pm

I have used a straw since day one.  The no straw thing is crazy.

poet_kelly
on 3/18/14 8:32 pm - OH

Why does your surgeon say  no?

I use a straw all the time.  I guess it causes some people to take in extra air and gives them uncomfortable gas, but it doesn't do that to me.  That's the only reason I know of not to use one.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

mimiof2wins
on 3/19/14 11:11 am - CA
RNY on 01/16/14

My surgeon said drinking with a straw would allow extra air into the pouch. I just tried drinking with a straw yesterday for the first time since surgery and I didn't notice any excess air.  I did notice that it was easier to get down a lot of fluid.

JJ0609
on 3/19/14 12:15 am, edited 3/19/14 12:15 am

It took me a long time to try a straw because I was scared due to the debate. I do not suffer any consequences from using one. I guess because I already am gassy. LOL! I have noticed that I get in more liquids by using one.

“Let someone love you just the way you are – as flawed as you might be, as unattractive as you sometimes feel, and as unaccomplished as you think you are. To believe that you must hide all the parts of you that are broken, out of fear that someone else is incapable of loving what is less than perfect, is to believe that sunlight is incapable of entering a broken window and illuminating a dark room.”― Marc Hack