Work

Janetearley
on 3/23/14 11:57 am - Cambridge, OH

I am totally new to any of this.  One of my main questions is how long I will be off work?  I work in an office and sit at a desk all day long other than walking over to the copy machine.  Also, how hard is it to get insurance to approve?  Tired of spending money on products that don't work for me. Thanks in advance 

kathkeb
on 3/23/14 1:25 pm

Jane,

A lot depends on the surgery you have.  I had a Realize Band on a Friday and took the following week off work ... 6 work days let me qualify for short term disability.

I could have worked 1/2 days at my desk job by Tuesday or Wednesday, but iwas nice to have the full week to rest, recover and plan my eating and drinking schedule.

If you have RNY orVSG you might need 2 weeks or more ....

If  you have DS, you could need more time than that.

Kath

Amy R.
on 3/23/14 1:35 pm

You need to call your insurance and see what is needed for approval.  We don't know.  Every insurance is different, and even policies within the same insurance companies are different.  You're gonna want to hear what is needed straight from the horse's mouth.

As for recovery time, I believe there are "expected" times of recovery, but it'll also depend on you and how your surgery goes.  Best bet is to make another call - to a Bariatric Center or Weight Loss Surgeon.  They usually have informational classes or appointments for newbies to get their questions answered.

We'd help you if we could.  But only you know the details of your situation.

Good luck=)

Jillify
on 3/23/14 7:26 pm - Glendale, AZ
DS on 04/01/14

I'm having a DS on April 1, and I was told that I would need 3-6 weeks off work, with 3-4 being more typical of a desk job and 6-8 being more typical of a job with lifting. YMMV.

Kate -True Brit
on 3/23/14 8:51 pm - UK

I had a physically active job ( working with teenagers with behavioural difficulties) which meant I was on my feet and moving around all day, often very rapidly!