Dr Paul Macik in Atlanta

KellieCanDo
on 4/15/14 2:47 pm

Hello! I'm a newbie to the forum. I have my VSG planned for May 2nd, 2015. I'd like to see if anyone out there knows anything about Dr. Paul Macik in Atlanta? I'm halfway through all of the pre-op clearances and super nervous! 

(deactivated member)
on 4/16/14 10:27 am - Smiths Station, AL

Hello :) Dr. Macik is my surgeon and I'm having VSG on 5/21!!!! 

KellieCanDo
on 4/16/14 12:36 pm

How did you find Dr Macik? What do you think of him so far? Do you know any others who have had him as a surgeon before? I'm starting to get super nervous! 

VSG on 06/12/13

He's my surgeon. I switched TO him a month before surgery after firing Dr. Johnson because Johnson's front office was a disaster. Macik's office has been great.

Dr. Macik did my sleeve and corrected a medium-sized hernia. 

You'll read reviews that he's not particularly conversational, and he's not. He's not going to be the type to sit down over a cup of coffee and chat. In all fairness, I haven't ever had a surgeon be the type to sit over coffee and chat.

I spent 2 nights at Northside. I could have gone home after the first night but enjoyed the benefits of the IV so I stayed the extra night. Very little pain, no complications. No second thoughts.

His pre op diet was easy: 20 grams of carbs but all the protein I wanted. His post op diet was tough: liquids for 4 weeks, then 2 weeks of pureed, then 2 weeks of soft. 8 weeks to get back to regular diet, but I understood it was because he wanted me to heal thoroughly.

He got animated when telling me that I should go off of PPI's. He also was pretty excited about my progress. And, he's answered my questions directly when I have had them.

Ping me with more questions if you have them.

Laurie

Sleeved 6/12/13 - 100 pounds lost to get to goal!

KellieCanDo
on 4/18/14 8:55 am