How long was the surgery? and pain afterwards?

NorthernHusky
on 5/8/14 1:53 am

Hi just wondering what kind of pain to expect after the surgery.. and how many hours is the procedure?

Tracy D.
on 5/8/14 2:09 am - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

It will depend on which surgery you're going to get and whether they do it "open" or laproscopically.  With those details we can give your better feedback.  

Tracy  5'3"     HW: 235  SW: 218  CW: 132    M1: -22  M2: -13  M3: -12  M4: -9  M5: -8   M6: -10   M7: -4

Goal reached in 7 months and 1 week

Lower Body Lift w/Dr. Barnthouse 7-8-15

poet_kelly
on 5/8/14 2:26 am - OH

Which surgery are you having?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

NorthernHusky
on 5/8/14 2:32 am

gastric bypass

poet_kelly
on 5/8/14 2:33 am - OH

I think it normally takes about an hour or just a little more, if you have it done laproscopically.  The amount of pain afterward really seems to vary from person to person.  I would call what I felt more discomfort than pain.  Moving around, getting up and down was uncomfortable for the first week or so.  I could do it, it just was not pleasant.  It was bearable with pain meds.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Valerie G.
on 5/8/14 2:34 am - Northwest Mountains, GA