I am a Newbie- Starting the Process!!

bragacutie
on 5/13/14 12:09 pm
DS on 08/20/14

Hi all,

So I have officially started the dr. visits and the requirements prior to insurance approval.  I am excited!!  I was just wondering how long after your initial consult with your surgeons were you scheduled for surgery?

(deactivated member)
on 5/13/14 4:58 pm

Hello. I am a newbie as we'll however, I have already finished all my pre-op insurance requirements. I started last year in January but was denied and all my appeals were also denied because they required 2 years of a bmi of 35 or more and I only had 1 year. This year I started in February and was approved May 12. My insurance required a 3 month supervised diet with a nutritionist. I couldn't lose much because then I wouldn't qualify for the surgery but also was not allowed to gain ANY weight at all during that time or they would deny me for non compliance. Do you know what your insurance requires of you?

bragacutie
on 5/13/14 8:51 pm
DS on 08/20/14

Hi R-lo, my insurance requires 3 months supervised diet with a doctor, a psychologist consult, pulmonologist consult, and a nutritionist consult.   Even if the insurance had asked for two years, my doctor (primary care) has a medical record of over four years where I have struggled with weight and at various points in my medical history have been prescribed prescription weight loss pills....nothing worked, now that I recently was diagnosed as prediabetic, have sleep apnea, and infertility due to weight, I was finally allowed the option of weight loss surgery.

What insurance do you have? I know some are more strict than others! My surgeon's office went over my insurance requirements with me at my initial consult, they are great and very thorough.

(deactivated member)
on 5/13/14 11:58 pm