Newbie here, a few questions regarding after surgery

GoBlueGirl1998
on 5/15/14 3:02 am - MI

Good Day!

I'm new on here! I was referred by a friend. This is a great site with so many great questions, responses, suggestions & general support. I started a 6 month program that is mandatory by insurance. Once that is completed I "should" be approved for surgery. In the meantime I'm working thru the psych part of this all. I have lost weight, however I have never maintained. I know this a guide and its a lifestyle change. With that being said, how do you deal with an ethnic family where all holidays, birthdays, get togethers revolve around food? I'm Polish and food is the biggest part of every celebration. I can already see my Babcia shaking her head at me because I'm trying to make better choices and not pork +  pork + more pork + a side of carbs!

Also, has anyone had lymphadema and had surgery? I have lymphadema in my left leg. I have seen the size of leg fluctuate depending on my weight, but it has never gone away. Can anyone tell me what happen with their lymphadema after surgery?

Thanks in advance!

poet_kelly
on 5/15/14 3:22 am - OH

When I go to family gatherings, I either find out ahead of time what will be served and decide what I'll eat, or else I take something healthy but really yummy for myself.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

pickles999
on 5/15/14 3:29 am - Canada