Took the first step

Purplemonster
on 5/22/14 11:22 am

I'm new here. I had my consultation with the surgeon about a month ago, now I'm just going through all the steps. I have to have another 3 months with PCP, so it seems like that's what's going to take the longest. I have about 120lbs to lose. I'm trying to get approved for the Gastric bypass. I'm new to all this and would just like so advice or words of wisdom, about the coming months. Any advice would be helpful! That's all for now.

Eggface
on 5/22/14 2:05 pm - Sunny Southern, CA

Best wishes to you! Having weight loss surgery (almost 8 years post gastric bypass) was the best gift I ever gave myself... hope you are soon saying the same thing. 

A few things to do while you wait for your date :)

~Michelle "Shelly"

Weight Loss Surgery Friendly Recipes & Rambling
www.theworldaccordingtoeggface.com

Hislady
on 5/23/14 3:50 am - Vancouver, WA

One word, patience! Patience getting approved, patience after surgery, patience when you stall, patience when you gain and patience in maintaining weight loss for the rest of your life. They all take time and you can make yourself crazy trying to rush any step. Good luck!

lara86
on 5/23/14 3:59 am - Canada

Congrats on taking the first step!! I am now 4 months post op. Down 60lbs. It's a long process about 1 year. Just make sure u do everything that is asked of you to the "t" because it will be so helpful for after the surgery. Do all ur research on this operation and soon you will be enjoying the start of your new life!! Good luck with everything!

MsBatt
on 5/23/14 5:23 am

Before you commit to the RNY/gastric bypass, also research the VSG/Sleeve and the DS/duodenal switch. Both of those procedures leave you with a fully-functional stomach, unlike the RNY.

Purplemonster
on 5/23/14 2:40 pm

Thank you for all your kind words! I know that patience will be something that I'm going to have to get used to, but I'm learning lol