food budget?

chaplainJess
on 6/12/15 5:47 am

I am considering RNY and a random question jumped into my head this morning. -

Every time I diet, my food gets more expensive. I am eating less, but what I do eat costs more. What about the post-RNY lifestyle? I would imagine that the food budget will drop due to the small portions? 

Do you spend more or less on food post-op?   

CerealKiller Kat71
on 6/12/15 6:13 am
RNY on 12/31/13

My food budget (for a family of 3) has definitely decreased.  I am an avid cook and make most things from scratch -- and have always had very little food waste.  However, our spending has gone down appreciably, while the quality of our food has increased.  I do tend to buy the best quality meats that were really too spendy before.  My husband and son eat much more normal portions than I did pre-surgery -- and I never noticed how much I over-cooked until after surgery.  Now I cook correct portion sizes.

I will say that if I include the cost of my monthly supplements, it may be closer to being a wash?  

Also, our restaurant budget has dramatically changed.  Our usual bill for a family restaurant meal was around $50.  The other night we ate out and I paid 19 with a 6 tip!  So, there's that, too.

"What you eat in private, you wear in public." --- Kat

crystal M.
on 6/11/15 11:40 pm, edited 6/11/15 11:42 pm - Joliet, IL

My grocery bill went up because of the quality of food I am buying and cooking from scratch.  More fresh organic produce.  Quality cut organic meat.  Fresh home cooked meals take more ingredients.  Rather than buying convenience foods.  Like a can of soup is cheaper than making your own soup.