Getting closer

LindaM1962
on 7/2/17 12:26 pm

Had the 2nd of 6 appts required by the program I'm in. Had lots of blood work done and found out I have a few problems that could prevent me from getting this surgery! According to the dr, (not the surgeon) I have parathyroid problems, and my good cholesterol is too low! In my opinion, this dr that I see is trying everything he can to talk me out of having the surgery and I don't think that's right! Anyone else run into this problem? I've been researching this surgery for about 20 years, and continue to research it. I just hope I'll be able to have the surgery before the end of this year!

Doyenne
on 7/3/17 3:54 am

Many people have had to work towards the day they get approval, because of medical concerns. It is important to understand what those concerns are, and work through them. You don't want to become terribly ill post op because you didn't address them properly!

i don't know anything about the parathyroid but your doc does. Just keep on your path, get information and treatment as necessary. You will get there, and be celebrating on the other side with us soon.

Surgery date May 4, 2017

HW 290. Start weight 229. Day of Surgery 209. Month 2: 190. Month 3: 182. Month 4: 174. Month 5: 164. Month 6: 159. Month 7: 153. Month 8: 147. Month 9: 145. Month 10: 142. Month 11: 138 Month 12: 137. Month 13: 139 Month 14: 131. Month 15: 130. Month 16: 131. Month 17: 128. 162 pounds lost!!

Two year anniversary upon me in 3 days: 136. Need to lose a few pounds..

H.A.L.A B.
on 7/3/17 6:53 am

Parathyroid hormones get high when you gave issues with it (i.e cancer) or when your calcium is out of balance and your body is pulling calcium our if your bones.

Either one of those are really bad - regardless which one it is. It needs to be evaluated and corrected, before you decide to have any WLS. You have a smart doc who it trying to look for your best interest.