How do I look good?

Highfunctioningfatman
on 8/18/17 1:22 pm
VSG on 08/29/16

I work in healthcare. I'm in patients homes and I manage a warehouse, drivers and everything else that goes on in the field. I've always worked the patient/service portion of the business.

I'm considering changing things up and dealing directly with doctors on the sales end of the business. The problem is that I don't know how to look good. I look ok in my regular clothes but I want to look more than ok, I want to look professional. I don't need a suit and tie.

Can anyone give me pointers?

CC C.
on 8/18/17 1:48 pm

I think the first thing is to figure out what your style is and what kinds of clothes you like. The internet is a good place for this! I'd start with something like this site.

Also, tailoring is key. For a few bucks, something that isn't quite right off the rack can look like it was made for you with a few tucks here and there.

Consider personal shoppers at nicer department stores too. It's usually free, but they often come up with clothes/ideas you might not have thought of trying on.

Fredbear
on 8/18/17 2:54 pm
VSG on 11/29/16

What Cecily said... get someone to go with you to direct you. Especially if they direct you to clothes you normally wouldn't even think of. Men in particular are really bad at finding clothes that look good on them; they usually just go with what they already know.

You need someone to try different styles and different colors and be able to give you a non-biased opinion of what works and what doesn't.

It is very important that this person NOT be your wife. Sorry, she's too close. You need a stranger, or someone you may know only on a cursory basis.

"Friends are like flowers; no matter how well you pick them, they all eventually die."

Highfunctioningfatman
on 8/18/17 3:40 pm
VSG on 08/29/16

I just skimmed through that site briefly but that is pretty cool! Thanks!

ThatMeanOne
on 8/18/17 3:12 pm, edited 8/18/17 8:20 am
VSG on 08/22/16