-

LuckyLoser
on 1/6/19 2:15 am, edited 1/5/19 6:15 pm - NEPA, PA
RNY on 08/20/18

I was a VA physician (Geriatrics) for 11 years. I hope I wasn't one of those that you felt was rude. I worked with a lot of other physicians and nurses *****ally cared about the veterans they served. Yes, we felt that we "served" you, the veterans who "served" for us. It was our small way of trying to thank you for the sacrifices you made serving in the service so we can enjoy the life we do.

I have been out of VA service since 2015, so the rules may have changed in the VA. (Don't they always!) Does the VA still allow you to go out to the private sector to get medical care if you can't get timely care at a reasonable distance? The VA I worked at was able to do that for other illnesses, but I'm not sure about WLS.

Just something to think about . . .

---Joyce

Height: 5'2" Starting Weight: 260

Surgery Weight: 232 Goal Weight: 140

Current Weight: 179

"Fall down seven times and get up eight."

Pure_Prairie
on 1/7/19 2:14 pm
VSG on 01/10/19

Thank you Ms. Joyce,

They do in fact make outside referrals, however you have to get your physician to approve that referral. So even though I am service connected for an orthopedic injury my doctor refuses to make the referral to ortho.

It was basically the same with WLS I don't know if Private Citizen has had any luck (didn't sound like it) but based on her distance alone she should be eligible for the Choice program (I believe that's what they call it).

Hopefully she can use this advice to get a second opinion and get the help she needs!

White Dove
on 1/6/19 2:50 am - Warren, OH

A female needs about 10 calories a day to maintain one pound. So you might need 500 a day to maintain 50 pounds or 2000 a day to maintain 200 pounds.

A man or a woman with higher metabolism might burn 12 calories per pound and stay at 166 on 2000 calories a day.

Age and exercise make a difference.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

Haley_Martinez