Getting to know you....getting to know all about you (2019 edition)

artchikk
on 1/9/19 12:16 pm
RNY on 02/12/18

I am replying late but I haven't had time to read through the boards lately...I do love reading everyone's posts though!

1. if it's not obvious by my screen name, I am an artist. I do mainly portraiture (people and pets) for commission because that's what people want and will pay for, but I love making any/all kinds of art and I plan to start making more time for it this year (that's my non-weight loss related NY resolution for 2019). I spent a lot of time focusing on my health last year and that was what I needed to do...but my art is my mental therapy and it makes me feel proud and accomplished when I actually spend the time to finish a piece. I forget sometimes when I go through "dry spells" how much I love it.
I don't get to do it for a living, unfortunately since I have never been good at marketing myself and I don't do well will stress...but I enjoy it as a freelance/part-time gig, knowing I can choose when and what jobs to take. It satisfies my need to still be able to call myself a professional artist without turning my passion into something I might come to dislike.
I've posted a couple of my drawings in the past but if anyone is ever interested (I know there are a lot of pet lovers here haha)...feel free to send me a message or ask to see other examples!