Six Month supervised diet- can I get around this?

Vanvooh
on 3/25/19 9:56 am

Hello all.

I have UHC and they require a six month supervised diet or weigh****chers or jenny craig, etc etc. The thing is, I have had this surgery approved and scheduled with UHC before and been on a million diets ( as we all have) my entire life. Most recently, I was on Contrave and seeing my doctor but not every month. I saw her three times in about 4 months. Anyway- just wondering if anyone has had an experience being able to sidestep this as it really is kind of ridiculous at this point. I'm a veteran of weight loss efforts and now I have uncontrolled diabetes. Just am frustrated with all these hoops.

Thoughts?

H.A.L.A B.
on 3/25/19 10:39 am

If your insurance require that - then IMO it may be close to impossible to get around that. But if the center and your surgeon require that , you can get the info you already have and see if they would allow you shorten the 6 months diet.

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

jenorama
on 3/25/19 10:56 am - CA
RNY on 10/07/13

I have UHC as well and I probably could have gotten around the six month thing as I'd been in the HMR program for a couple of years before finally deciding to go the surgery route. Call them and ask what information they require to waive the six month wait.