Weight loss in life before any part of surgery comparison to after surgery

Thea7777
on 4/3/19 6:20 pm

I have a question - mostly just curiosity but sparked by watching YouTube videos tonight. I'm new in my process and researching everything!

Most of us have tried dieting in many ways before considering and getting weight loss surgery - so my question is when you dieted on your own and were successful to any degree (for example, I've lost 40 lbs fairly quickly before self sabotaging and gaining it back) in comparison to after getting the surgery - did you find your weight loss after surgery to be faster, about the same or slower than when you did it on your own?

Amy R.
on 4/3/19 6:56 pm

I'd hazard a guess that it's faster after; it does slow down as the months go by which is why people advise newbies to "be a machine" and lose as much as possible that first 18-24 months.

The real benefit for me though is that post-surgery I've been able to keep it off (with a couple of regains/relose episodes). I lost over a 100 pounds twice before surgery and then put it all right back on. Usually with some extra for good measure.

The surgery has allowed me to keep it off overall, and I actually reached my lowest weight ever in my 10th year out.

Good luck in your considerations.

Thea7777
on 4/5/19 4:04 am

That's amazing that you were able to keep the weight off overall. That's my long term goal - so it is so nice to hear about others successes to know its absolutely possible.

The Salty Hag
on 4/3/19 7:04 pm
RNY on 05/20/13

My loss after WLS was MUCH faster than I ever lost on my own. I don't think I lost especially quickly-it was about average, but by a year out, I'd lost 140 of the 153 lbs that I wanted to lose. I don't think that would have been possible without WLS-not for me anyway. Hope this helps.

I woke up in between a memory and a dream...

Tom Petty

Thea7777
on 4/5/19 4:06 am