Newbie here with a question

kikilay
on 3/22/15 11:20 am

Hello everyone my name is Kiasha I am 25, happily married 3 years next month, and planning to have an RNY done as soon as possible. Its a decision I have thought long and hard about for 3 years. I tried losing weight on my own and it just isn't working.  I have PCOS, Papilledema, and Pseudotumor cerebri all which I have been repeatedly told would get better with weight loss.  I am ready to make a permanent change in my life. I am hoping the surgery will make it possible for me to have a baby and most of all just be healthy.  

I do have a question my insurance requires a 6 month medically supervised weight loss program. The hospital I want to have surgery at has one but its expensive. Could I just see my doctor once a month to meet this requirement? What did you do for those who had to meet this requirement as well?

I look forward to getting to know everyone and providing/receiving as much support as possible.

Racewalker48
on 3/25/15 4:05 am
RNY on 02/17/14

Hi there,

My suggestion would be to call your insurance company directly and ask them if seeing your doctor is an alternative to doing a hospital program. That would be the place to start.  I wish you luck, sounds like you are so ready to take this big step!

Lia D
on 4/1/15 12:23 am - Waldorf, MD

GM Kiki:

I have Kaiser and they requested a 6 month weight loss program.  They authorized me to see a Kaiser nutritionist.  I visited her once a month for 6 months.  She provided me with a diet plan, that I tried to follow, and my weight was logged in monthly.  I started light exercises like walk away the pounds and that helped me to lose enough weight to meet their criteria.  Hope this info helps.  Good luck to you.

jasmith31
on 4/2/15 6:43 am - Los Angeles, CA

Hi There!