Blood sugars too high for surgery??

Tara N.
on 3/3/05 3:49 am - windsor mill, MD
Hello All! THis is my first time posting, although I've gotten tons of great information from the site and its forums! Im 28 years old with a BMI of40.9 and type 2 diabetes ( since 1991) I've already been approved by my insurance for Open RNY At Barix clinics. My surgeon required me to have a cardiologist consult and an a1c. The cardio consult went great and my results were pretty much flawless. But my surgeon mentioned he wanted my aic to be 8 or less. I just got the results back and it's 10. I went through a period after a miscarriage late last year where I was 'fed-up' with being diabetic so I stopped wearing my pump and monitoring my sugars like I should have been. Of course once I found out I was a candidate for surgery I got back on the wagon and havent strayed since. But its only been 1 month since my consult appointment and the a1c result encompasses the last 3 months . I guess my question is has anyone had a high a1c and still gotten a surgery date? Other than the risk of infection is there anything else I should weigh should the doctor decide to go ahead and proceed with surgery ( like Im hoping he will)?
kraulto
on 3/3/05 6:43 am - Mission Hills, CA
We have the same predicament, my HBa1c is 9.2 and i was told to bring it down to at least 7 or else no surgery...or until such time it goes down to 7. I recent got on Insulin(Humalog and Lantus) on 8/19/04. I attend this pre-bariatric class in preparation for this surgery and part of the requirement is i had to stop smoking as a result i gained 16 lbs. which brought everything up. I'm sorry but i have no answer for you and i'm pretty sure your surgeon will NOT perform the surgery with an elevated Hba1c.
Dennis Belk
on 3/5/05 7:04 am - Philadelphia, PA