Vasovagel Syncope or "i faint alot"

(deactivated member)
on 7/12/11 6:24 am - TX
Hey Ladies,

As I sit here waiting to get approval for my DS at Madigan....I real alot about the "lab draws" every 3 or 6 months.  I have the syndrome listed in the subject line and guess what my trigger happens to be??? Yep....you guessed the blood draw needle.   I know it is stupid, I know it doesn't really hurt that bad and the thing is tiny.....but I have been fainting during blood draws for over 30 years!?  

I have managed to make it through it once or twice, but the majority of the time I am "out cold"!   I know there isn't anything ya'll can say....but I just thought I would mention it.  I have no idea how I will make it through blood draws 2x a year at the least with them taking 12 or more vials of blood, but I'm not giving up!  I know the DS will change my life......so if I have to faint 2x a year for it.......oh well!!

And the even stranger thing is I had my twins vaginally and naturally (not by choice...got there too late for c-section that was scheduled 2 days later) and twin A was BREACH!   So I have had my share of pain........but nevertheless the vasovagel trigger is the damn blood draws!!   UUGH!
Julie R.
on 7/12/11 6:31 am - Ludington, MI
 My daughter had the exact same problem.  You know what cured her?  Surgery.   She had to have her hip reconstructed, and had so much blood work performed, that she was able to develop a tolerance for the procedure.      Perhaps you can seek some counseling for this before your surgery, as it definitely is an emotional issue with a physical manifestation.
Julie R - Ludington, Michigan
Duodenal Switch 08/09/06 - Dr. Paul Kemmeter, Grand Rapids, Michigan
HW: 282 - 5'4"
SW: 268
GW: 135
CW: 125

honeybadger 11
on 7/12/11 7:17 am - FL