Let's put the hair loss fear into perspective here.

Elizabeth N.
on 7/28/11 2:59 pm - Burlington County, NJ
Okay. I realize I am a cranky old vet and a mean obnoxious ***** *cackling heartily at the fiction*

Put that aside for a moment and participate with me, please, in this panic about hair loss.

Y'all know that I always say that I was dying, so what's a little hair? I'm also a happily married crankily surgically postmenopausal lady who doesn't give a whit about sex appeal. I recognize that this colors my opinion of my baldness.

Nonetheless, those who know me will agree that I am a clothes horse who pays close attention to appearances when not in the middle of hay fields or encamped at the grill in the middle of nowhere. I cut a figure that draws attention from anyone from whom I want to draw attention. So I think I'm not exactly a candidate for "What Not to Wear." Nor am I a granny, either in fact or in attitude. My husband is amused at how I get hit on and how I turn heads, in fact.

This head turning thing, ladies, has NOTHING to do with great body or fluffy hair. When I take off the outer trappings, I am bald on top, sagging everywhere, and worst of all IMHO, missing my two front teeth. (Not a DS thing BTW.) Ya know what? When I put on my bits and pieces, do my makeup, dress correctly and have GOOD ATTITUDE (and a wide smile and strong eye contact), it doesn't matter a whit. The people whose attention I WANT are the people whose attention I get, regardless of age or gender.

What's the secret? ATTITUDE. Good posture, good grooming, use of excellent language, sense of humor, etc. all play a role. But the bottom line is ATTITUDE.

Please look at my preop photos. My hair was almost to my waist and was my pride and joy. I had a brilliant, expensive (from years of orthodontia) smile. I still looked like ******g HELL. I still got treated like **** despite my people skills, command of language, education blah blah blah.