Looking for a BPD/DS doc nearest me

NoDramaMama
on 5/3/19 12:06 pm

I'm a vet. 20 yrs. I had BPD/DS open. I was a lightweight at the time. 5'7" and 240. I'm now at 186.

I've had issues in recent years with symptoms mimicking IBD. My son has chrohns. Been in and out of gastroenterologist offices, General surgeons and ER with many issues. Belly pain, diarrhea bloating. Supspected blockages or illeus but then nothing shows up.

I have messantariitis that has progressed rapidly too. They're watching it.

I'm at my wits end on what's wrong. I never had real follow up as my surgeon lived 2 states away and no one understood this surgery...still can't find anyone who does, especially old school bpd/DS open, at that.

So im trying to find someone well versed in this procedure to talk to about the issues I'm having. About reversal. Tests or possible diagnosis. I'm so tired of being sick constantly.

I currently live in McComb Mississippi. Willing to travel for help I just have no idea whom to see that would be sympathetic to my issues.

B. Jones
on 5/3/19 3:40 pm

Sorry to hear about your issues, that has to be scary. I would tell you Dr. Gary Anthone in Omaha Ne. He did an open DS on my mom 7 years ago, she's a rock star with that procedure. Wish I would have had it when I had the money, but can't complain the sleeve has worked well for me. He was a co-surgeon when I had my sleeve Laproscopically over 10 years ago. I can't say enough good things about Dr. Anthone, heard him speak on many occasions (wonderful human being) He still practices out of a small clinic here in Omaha, NE

https://omahacatholicdoctors.org/profile/gary-j-anthone-md-f -a-c-s/

It's associated with https://www.chihealth.com/en/about-us.html

Looks like it's about 950 miles from where your at in McComb Mississippi to Omaha, Ne. Do some research on Dr. Anthone, he's a great surgeon and better human being. Hope this gives you an option.

Good luck

larra
on 5/4/19 9:09 am - bay area, CA