Update: 15 years ago today...

Stacie_S55
on 12/27/21 1:01 pm

I'm not a newbie, but an oldie who hasn't been around much in a very long time. :)

Fifteen years ago today, at age 37, I had my DS surgery at 376 pounds (BMI 55.5) in Brazil with Dr. Marchesini. I was self pay. Unfortunately, I was one of those rare cases that developed a complication in the form of a stomach leak, and for a year after my surgery, I ended up in the hospital 4 times and spent about four months in Tampa General (not all at once, but broken up) over the year getting drains put in, having a number of procedures, and almost dying from sepsis when the abcess that had formed in my abdomen burst. Dr. Murr was my doctor at TGH, and he did the best he could, but at the time, he was unfamiliar with the DS.

The next year, Dr. Gagner from Canada moved to Miami, so I started going to him, and he was my savior. I had lost down to about 225 pounds. He did two more surgeries to get me repaired, and at around 18 months out from my original surgery, I was finally fixed. The stent that he placed made it impossible to eat much, and when it was removed, my weight was 200.5 pounds. That was my lowest weight, and it stayed there for about 30 seconds, which was the only time I was just an "overweight" BMI and not "obese." I ended up hovering pretty effortlessly between 220-230 for about 6 years, and that was pretty amazing, except I ended up with about a million dollars in medical bills, and we filed for bankruptcy.

Then in 2013 my husband was diagnosed with cancer, and for the next 2 years, it was a roller coaster of radiation, chemo, and surgeries as he fought 3 types of stage four cancer. He was unable to work. It was extremely rough, and during that time, I gained about 70 pounds due to stress and eating a ton of junk food and soda. As they say, they operated on my stomach and not my head, and way too quickly and easily, I was at 301 pounds again, and there I stayed.