aiiyana’s Posts

aiiyana
on 9/11/21 8:16 pm
Topic: RE: Intense Fatigue and Low Iron

Thank you for responding and for the information! I understand that fatigue is complex and I promise I have done so much searching for answers, as much as I can understand without being a medical professional myself.

Neither my surgeon nor my pcp have ever tested my ferritin. The most recent test, my pcp only tested "Iron".

I have two test results within the past year for my TIBC and MCV.

• TIBC was 286 ug/dL and 279 ug/dL in a range of 250 to 450.
  • MCV was 87fL and 84fL in a range of 79 to 97.

The only other numbers I've had tested are my Iron Saturation and my UIBC.

• For Iron Saturation, both tests had me at 16% in a range of 15% to 55%.
  • For UIBC, 235ug/dL and 240 ug/dL in a range of 131 - 425.

I do also have an underactive thyroid and have been on medication for two years. I've had it tested frequently and tested with good numbers every time.

aiiyana
on 9/10/21 12:41 pm
Topic: RE: Intense Fatigue and Low Iron

Hello all! I have lurked this forum for a long time and appreciated everyone's info and experiences, but now I've made an account to ask some questions. I'm currently 21 months post-op traditional duodenal switch.

I'm very confused about fatigue and iron levels. I've been experiencing increasingly worse fatigue over the past year, but I can't get my primary care physician to do anything about it. I recently asked him to test my iron levels because I suspect the symptoms I've been having are related (intense fatigue, always cold, dizzy when standing).

• My lab's reference range for iron is 27ug/dL to 159ug/dl. It's only labeled "iron", but I assume it's the test for serum.
  • Since surgery, my iron has gone from 46 to 44 to 42.
  • The reference range for hemoglobin is 11.1g/dL to 15.9g/dL.
  • My hemoglobin has gone from 11.7 to 12.4 to 11.9 to 11.4.