Run: Abdominal Cramping

John V.
on 9/13/11 11:54 am - MN
 Any ideas on how to prevent this during a run?  I'm a complete running newbie.  Hit me at about 3.5 miles on Sunday and very soon at 1.5 miles today.  

Today it was probably 1-1.5 hrs after dinner, so maybe that's what did it.  

In searching the googly-web it sounds like a full stomach may make it harder to breathe (didn't feel like it was) and that reduce lung capacity could cause cramps.  ????

Anyway, any tips?  Is it food and drink related?  Should I try to put more time inbetween eating/drinking and a run? 

Slowing to a walk definitely helped, once I started up again it came back. 

HW:  280  /  SW: 250  /  GW#1: 175  /  GW#2: 160  /  GW#3: 150 / CW: 147.8    
 Includes 30 lbs lost pre-surgery.    
(deactivated member)
on 9/13/11 12:46 pm
I don't know your generall physical conditioning level, how long you have been running nor am I totally familiar with RNY factos so keep that in mind since I don't even run and am Pre-op for VSG.  LOL

My first thougth is not so much your timing of your meal but maybe electrolytes.  That would be especially true if you weren't having any breathing problems.  Do you use a HRM and if so, are you seeing anyting odd from that? 

Are you taking sports drinks on your runs?  Generally these aren't essential for short periods of moderate exercise but I always take these products with me for the fact I sweat a lot.  

Just an idea but I'm certain the RNY folks might have other thoughts.

MacMadame
on 9/13/11 3:24 pm - Northern, CA
First of all, when you say "adominal cramping," what do you mean? Is this a stitch or is this the beginnings of gastric distress?

Gastric distress while running is an issue with many people and has nothing to do with WLS. Some people just find their digestive system shuts down when they run and this causes whatever is in there to come out. Abdominal cramps is the first sign and/or gassiness. If you are "lucky", then diarrhea follows. Whee!