During marathon nutrition

nurseivy
on 5/9/18 6:56 am

Hi everyone!

I am almost 10 months post op VSG. And I have decided to run the Marine Corps Marathon. I will be training with the Muscular Dystrophy Association. I am scared to death!! Hahaha

So My question is about nutrition during long runs and the race. How do you guys keep track of when to eat and when to drink? I was told not to drink 30 minutes after eating. Does that all kind of go out the window during long runs?

Gavs50
on 5/11/18 3:30 am

First off congratulation on the surgery and now the marathon goal. Awesome stuff. I am about 20 months out and about to run my 3rd I am no expert and everyone is different so remember that. I eat 30-45 min before the race a nice bowl or yogurt,berries, and granola. On the course depending on the weather I will grab some water at most rest stops as I find that if I start to get dehydrated my race goes down the tube. As for eating on the course. I carry about 4 GU packs and a pack of Shot Bloc's and start eating them about mile 13. Then I have 1 GU about every 3 miles after than just to give me enough boost to get through.

Good luck and and let us know how it turns out for you.

nurseivy
on 5/18/18 11:32 am

Thank you sooooooo much for your response!!

3??? That is awesome!!! Congrats!!!

Do you wait 30 minutes after GU or Shot Blocks to drink? Or are you ok drinking right after? That is what is confusing me!! Hahaha

docbad32
on 5/14/18 6:00 am

Drink to thirst and eat about 100-200 calories per hour. Those are my general rules for road running. You may find you need more, or even less. It is a very personally thing and takes a lot of experimenting. Use your long training runs to find out what foods or fuels work for you, and how much water you should be drinking. There's quite a few long distance runners around these parts, so ask any questions you may have. Good luck!

VSG:  3/12/15

highlandbear
on 5/15/18 6:57 pm - Canada