United Healthcare

stephaniesjourney
on 6/23/13 6:28 pm
I'm just starting out my journey with United Healthcare. Just wondering what people's experiences are?? Their requirements include 5 years dr documented BMI over 40 (which I have). I'm just wondering if its really that simple (I don't think it is). My primary dr has given me the last 5 years which show at least 40 the entire time). But I suspect it won't really be that easy. Thanks guys!!
VSG on 06/12/13
If you meet requirements, you will sail through. Do you mind if I ask who your employer is? Just make sure that your submitted BMI is clearly documented as 40 and you have plain documentation to show the other dates, and you are good to go!

I have United with the same requirements and didn't quite meet requirements (BMI of 38.3 + comorbids on first submission); they didn't care that I had worked with my doc on physician supervised weight loss on and off since 2008. They didn't care that I could show BMI of 40 when I wasn't working with my doc. I fought thru two denials, and hired Walter Lindstrom's office. They handled the final appeal, which went to hubby's employer (ING). It was a one shot deal- if I won, I won, and if I didn't, I was done. Well, I won the appeal. The bigger news is that ING's medical director decided on the basis of Lindstrom's arguments that their policy was outdated and ordered United to change it to reflect prevailing medical thought.

I tell you this because if you are through ING, you should have looser restrictions and I would be curious to know if that is not the case. If not through ING, know that if something goes wrong, you do have another case that has been successfully argued and overturned against those requirements.

From what you say, you should be fine, but I wanted to give you some additional details should you need them good luck!

Sleeved 6/12/13 - 100 pounds lost to get to goal!

walkingbear36
on 7/4/13 7:20 pm - Ferndale, MI