Cancer and WLS.... Is it possible?

annhack
on 5/17/11 2:11 am - Brooklyn , NY
I am thinking about having weight loss surgery but im not sure if I am a good candidate because of my past history with cancer.  Anyone out there every had WLS and had Cancer before?  Would love to hear your story. 
bubblesrn
on 5/17/11 2:15 am
Lap Band on 02/22/08 with
Hi Ann.  I'm a bariatric nurse and I've taken care of several patients who had a history of cancer and have gotten WLS.  It all depends on what type of cancer though.  If you want you can message me or share on this forum. 

Take care and hope everything works out for you!
Jan

all the weight has been lost post-op..I LOVE MY BAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

highest weight: 333 pounds (I know I gained after my last "weigh in" in the doctors office so probably it's more like 340 pounds)
current weight: 151 pounds (7/12/11)
I've been at goal (165 pounds) for 6 months now and now on maintence.  I tend to go up and down depending on time of the month and such! 

annhack
on 5/17/11 2:36 am - Brooklyn , NY
Hi Jan

Thank you for responding to my post.  I had endormetiral cancer 4 years ago and now I am cancer free.  I would like to consider WLS and scare that I might not be able too. 
Lisaizme
on 5/17/11 2:44 am - TX
Ann,   I am an endometrial cancer survivor and had my band placed about 18 months after my hysterectomy.   Actually, we were planning my banding when the cancer was discovered and even considered for a short time doing both surgeries at once.. but decided to get the cancer taken care of and go from there.

Fortunately my cancer was found very early so surgery was my cure (hopefully.. I'm not quite at 5 years out from surgery yet.. August will be 4 years).

Banding has been a very good thing for me.  I've lost quite a bit of weight and am so much more active and healthier.  I keep my band just tight enough to curb my hunger, but not so tight as to keep me from eating a reasonable amount of food.