Lap Band/Realize Band Questions Please help!

Hopingforchange
on 1/9/12 2:09 am, edited 1/9/12 2:16 am
Please help!  Please read and answer the questions below if you can. 

I'm new to OH and I am considering getting lap band surgery.  I am a female (stay at home mom of two), 36 years old, over 80lbs over weight... BMI 40 and have a few health issues due to my weight... which I'd like to improve or totally eliminate by getting to and maintaining a healthy weight.  High blood pressure being the main thing I'd like to resolve and fatty liver disease, and a few others. 

I know there are other surgery options, but for this topic/thread I would like to focus on those of you who have had successful lap band (realize or lap band) surgery.  I would love to know all you can tell me about it. 

My mindset going into this is that I just need a 'boost' to help me.  I have tried unsuccessfully to lose weight many times over the past 8 years and only seemed to gain.  I feel that WLS would give me the boost I need and could be the right tool I need to stick to it better and just give me a little boost.  

I have never had a problem with working out.... fell off the wagon a few times with it but always get back on and enjoy exercise.  I do seem to have a harder time sticking to the eating part though, especially when I am not seeing results on the scale or inches coming off or anything over a long period of months and months and months.  I've done several different diets, WW, Nutrisystem, South Beach, Counting Calories just to name a few.... I can stick to them for a while and lose a little and then it seems like nothing happens after I lose about 20lbs.... and then no matter what I do I can't lose anymore.  Despite working out 7days a week and changing my eating habits.  Plus I don't eat more than I used to or anything so you would think the increased exercise alone would help.... but no I have still gained.  It makes no sense to me.