Congrats!!! That is awesome. 

Posted Image

01|17|08 lap band   08|12|08
gallbladder  
01|17|11 port replacement
            07|09|12 hiatal hernia repair & band repositioning

adorkbl
on 10/15/12 8:58 am
Topic: RE: So..my Lap Band surgeon is talking about the Sleeve and options for me...
I had my hiatal hernia repaired in July and am thrilled thus far with my results. I have an AP standard 10cc band, so my Dr was able to unclasp my band, repair the hernia, and reposition my band. Miraculously my insurance covered it even though I have a bariatric opt-out clause.

It has been night and day difference for me restriction wise. I am still learning how to eat with my "new" band since it feels nothing like the first 4.5 years did. I am happy that I decided to repair my hernia and would do it again in a heartbeat.

However, VSG was not an option for me. If it was, I probably would have revised over to VSG. Main reason $$. I am self pay and my expenses have been large with the lapband. The aftercare, while I like the accountability with my Dr, can get expensive (time off work, cost of fills etc). Also, I do not believe that the band is a permanent solution. I am working it for everything I have right now, but I am realistic that someday I will most likely have to have it removed.

Best of luck with your decision!

Posted Image

gallbladder  

adorkbl
on 7/23/12 11:10 am, edited 7/23/12 11:10 am
Topic: RE: Band baby Zoey with pic!
Awwwww look at you with your cute baby bump. Sounds like things are going well!!! Congrats!

Posted Image

gallbladder  

adorkbl
on 7/23/12 11:07 am
Topic: RE: Please help and support!!!
You have gotten such great advice! I have been there. I think a lot of us have. I was in freak out mode a few months ago, went back to basics, and am losing again. (all with a wonky band... just had fixed).