Questions from New Orleans

Tessa T.
on 3/29/04 10:11 pm - LaPlace, La
Hello everyone...I am new to the message board. I have been doing research on having my surgery done in PV Mexico by Dr. Joya. I am having the lap bypass, has anyone here had this surgery in Mexico? Has anyone here had surgery performed by Dr. Joya? I have tried to get my insurance to pay for my surgery to no avail, I was turned down twice in 1997 and twice again in 2003 and now that the insurance companys are trying to cut out having to pay for this surgery, I have decided to do myself a favor and pay for it myself. Through research I have learned that the prices in Mexico are about half the cost in the US. But, who wouldn't be nervous about going out of the country to have surgery. I have read testamonials on Dr. Joyas site but would be more apt to believe an opinion outside of his website. At this point I am both excited and nervous at the thought of doing this. Any and all information you guys can give me would be much appreciated. Tess
doglover
on 3/30/04 12:08 am - Glendale, Az
Hi Tess! I had my surgery (open RNY)in Ensenada with Dr. Aguirre. It was scary going out of the country, for me, for the first time, to have surgery done. I am now 5 months out, down over 80 lbs, and can say it was the best thing I ever did for myself. Does Dr. Joya have a message board set up here? That would be the place to get more info on him, if possible. None of the nurses spoke English in the hospital, but both Dr.'s did, very well. I received the best care I have ever received in any hospital following surgery, and consider it an unqualified success. It takes alot of courage to have this surgery in the first place, but to go out of country and have it done takes a special kind of courage. Congratulations, and good luck!
Dinka Doo
on 3/30/04 4:58 am - Medford, OR