Bile Reflux after MGB

darcies001
on 4/15/08 5:35 am - Sioux Falls, SD
Hi, Everyone!  I had the MGB in July 2003 and have lost 120 pounds.  I am extrememely thrilled with the results and have not had any complications until last winter.  I started having severe epigastric pain and started vomiting bile.  I have been scoped 2 times and my surgeon sees some mild redness.  He suggested I totally cut out caffeine and thought that would fix my problem.  I was just wondering if anyone else has had bile reflux problems and what your doctor has done to fix them?  A new surgeon that I saw suggested trying Zantac every day and if that doesn't work we will try Carafate.  Any input would be appreciated. Thanks! Darcie
slugworth
on 4/20/08 4:25 am - Stanwood, WA
I am not a doctor of course but I am wondering if you eat live cultured yogurt everyday? Also I wonder if you have thought about prilosec? I am sorry to hear you are having problems. -Van
songbirdwoman
on 5/11/08 3:41 am - 'St. Marys, Canada
Hi ((((((((((Darcie)))))))))))))))   I am sorry to hear about your problem with bile reflux.  I don't know but could drinking coffee have contributed to the bile reflux.  I had my surgery 17 days ago with Dr. peralgie and remember him specifically saying not to drink coffee or soda pop since they are both so acidy.  I hope you can get it under control with the right medication.  Good luck to you. Hugssssssssssssss Linda xoxo
travelinqueen83
on 2/25/09 5:34 am