Getting to goal

NorthernStar
on 7/31/13 11:01 pm - London, Canada
RNY on 06/25/12

What are you best tips for getting to goal?

I have been bouncing up and down the same 3-4 lbs for 2 1/2 months. I really just want to get down to my goal. My original goal was 160, getting to 157 would mean 157 lbs lost and being half my size so it would be cool to do that. 160 puts me at the top end of a healthy BMI so I think it is a pretty reasonable weight for my 5'7" and a bit frame. I would love to be a size 2 but that's maybe not the big picture here.

I have been slacking a bit in the exercide department. I recently went into a shift rotation at work which means week-to-week I am on different shifts and my normal evening workout schedule has been out of whack. The last 3 weeks I have been able to work out in the morning, but this week I am on early mornings and have been too tired in the evenings to work out. I typically work out hard 4-5 days a week, but have been slacking and getting in 2-3 x/week which is not enough. I'm also getting a bit bored with my DVDs at home and have been thinking about joining a gym.

I haven't been tracking my food, so that's got to start again. I have always focused on protein first and the first 6 months I was diligent about eating low carb but over the last 6 months I haven't really paid attention to calories. Is there an overall count to aim for? Total calories or carbs?

*Lindsey*

Keeping off 133 lbs since 2012!

Referral to Bariatric Registry: May 2011   /   Surgery (HRRH): June 25, 2012         

Patm
on 7/31/13 11:11 pm - Ontario, Canada
RNY on 01/20/12

Tracking your food would definitely be a good idea. I find I have to revise my count as the day goes on and I have something not on my menu. It is amazing how the calories add up. Basically calories in and calories out. I get that shift work can play havoc with your sleep and energy. So exercise when you can. You will find how many calories you can tolerate without gaining.

Good luck