50lbs lighter and a few questions

hockeydad2013
on 11/6/13 11:54 pm - Canada

weighed myself this am, and I am down 50.2 lbs.I am still having trouble with the proteins. Not the powder or drinks but trying to include it in each meal. Breakfast is normally a yogurt and protein drink.  lunch it has been soup but trying to go more to protein to fill me up. Supper has been ok but I think my portions might be a little to big.

Also my surgery was October 11, when can I start going to the gym and lifting weights or doing machines, or at least just riding the bike or eleptical machines.

Thanks for all the help and positive feedback in the past. I love the site. Just wish I was a better cook,

(deactivated member)
on 11/7/13 12:23 am, edited 11/7/13 12:23 am - Straford, Canada

Congrats on your early success! angry

I believe I was told I should wait 4-6 weeks before doing any lifting more than 20-30 pounds but since I had my GB out two weeks after RNY it was longer for me.  

Food wise I found the first proteins I could take in and "enjoy" were tuna packed in oil (the one packed in water was too dense for me, the oil made it moister), poached eggs (which were a pain to learn how to do but once I did I can do them in my sleep now) and toupee ham heated on the BBQ (if you're unfamiliar with it just google it, its a precooked ham package that just needs heating to eat).  Fish didn't sit well for quite some time (other than tuna) and it took a long time to have steak without a battle to not  want to get rid of it!  Baked or roasted chicken was also an early positive experience, swiss chalet became my go to restaurant, my wife and I could share a quarter chicken (which was funny as I used to eat the half chicken with rib combo)! 

allrecipes.com is full of recipe videos that show step by step how to cook the recipe, they send me an email every day with ideas and there are often videos included.  If you're inclined to learn that way.  Good luck, heal well!  

Patm