My Post-Surgery Experience - Days 3 to 8 Post-Op

shoshanaApr2013
on 2/1/14 12:25 pm
This post is a follow-up to "My Surgery Experience (including some helpful tips)" that I posted yesterday.

My surgery and hospital experience was much better than I ever expected. My first evening home (Day 3) and Day 4 were the hardest. I was really struggling both physically and emotionally.

My Mum and Dad had come to look after me (for which I am forever grateful), and my Mum had warned me that sooner or later I would probably have a big cry. As usual, she was right! Day 4 was it.

I deal with emergencies for a living so I'm very used to pushing through whatever needs to be done and then breaking down once the action is over. I went into surgery with the attitude that I was going to be calm, maintain a sense of humour, and be a low maintenance patient - which really saw me through. Once the dust settled it all hit me.

I had been sent home with a brochure on what and how much to eat during each phase. I wasn't coming anywhere close to meeting the guidelines and it freaked me out. Everything I drank felt like a ball of cement going down and settling in my new stomach. I tried drinking the fluids at different temperatures and with or without Crystal Light. Nothing worked. 30ml of water felt like I had eaten a 20 pound turkey. I had met my "surgery twin" in the hallways of the hospital as we were both doing our walking, and on Day 2 she was already on Full Fluids* and couldn't wait to progress. It felt like I was failing by not getting in enough nourishment or protein.

I called the Centre and asked them if this was normal and I got the same answer to every question: "everyone is different... come in if it doesn't feel normal". But how was I to know what "normal" was supposed to feel like?