A gaping hole in our treatment/care?

Ipatton
on 11/24/15 9:30 am - Canada

A little bit about myself:

I am 1 year post-op and doing well.  I was set up too succeed because of my knowledge and background.  I have a PhD in Kinesiology and all of my research and education surrounds obesity, BMI and Weight Management.  It was a bit ironic that I was an "obesity expert" yet suffered from morbid obesity myself.  I teach human growth and development and physical activity at a university, I am a certified personal trainer and am working on writing my tests to become a Certified Exercise Physiologist (the highest certification a fitness professional can achieve in Canada)  

I always felt out of place, speaking at international conferences to the fittest, smartest people in the world when it come to obesity, while i was so overweight myself.  It wasn't until post-op and going through the bariatric process that it was pointed out to me from a colleague that I am in a unique position.  I understand the world we, as people living with obesity, live in very uniquely.  I know and understand the research and information, best practices and academic side, but I also have the lived experience, which no other "obesity expert" has.  

Along my Bariatric journey I have come to notice that there is a gaping hole in our support and education as patients.  We are given support for social, psychological and dietary aspects of our lives but then simply kicked out the door and told to be active.  For many of us this is something relatively new and intimidating.  If not done right, you can do more damage than good and there are a lot of mis-information and people spreading crap information.