Saxenda - Appetite Medication??

Mellywog
on 9/24/18 11:26 am
RNY on 06/17/19

I know most of you have already had your surgery but I am just beginning my journey. I had my first appointment at the Wharton Clinic. Had a great talk with the BE and then the doctor came in.

His first question was asking if I was interested in surgery and I said I was but I want to start working on my diet while I was going through the process.

His second question was asking me if I have medical insurance to cover Saxenda, a daily self injection to help suppress appetite.

I am not sure how I feel about these shots. Does anyone have any experience with it or any information you would like to share?

wrkinprogress
on 9/24/18 2:18 pm, edited 9/24/18 7:19 am

Hi Melly,

A healthcare provider I saw also said I could try Saxenda just prior to me starting this whole journey but it's very expensive and my insurance wasn't going to cover it anyway. I was leery about it anyway since it's just another chemical to confuse your body.

I also wanted to start losing weight well before my surgery, once I met with the nutritionist I just started eating what they suggested and the weight started coming off. I'd guess I started eating the way I was told about March or April and I'm down 70 lbs today so I'm very pleased with that.

Much safer in my opinion!

Good luck and feel free to email/inbox me if you want to know basically what I eat/drink. :)

Mellywog
on 9/25/18 6:31 am
RNY on 06/17/19

Thank you. I would love to know some of your go to's for food. I was hoping the nutritionist I had a appointment with was going to give me a meal plan but she just said to keep my calories around 1600.

I agree it is expensive. I could not afford it but my insurance will cover it.

WOW 70lbs!! That is freaking fantastic!! Congrats!!

SweetRide1
on 9/26/18 7:34 am
RNY on 01/16/18

I lost weight prior to surgery by changing habits and eating the way I was supposed eat post surgery.