Weight loss after abd and lipo

Judith K.
on 3/28/11 3:22 am
VSG on 05/15/10 with
I know the PS told me this but it was still disconcerting so thought I'd share so someone else isn't disappointed/surprised.  I had an abdominoplasty and lipo of inner/outer thighs on 03/03.  Went to WW on 03/07 -- no weight loss; not surprised 'cause I still had LOTS of swelling.  Next week only down .8#.  A little bummed but still okay 'cause of the swelling.  Last week I was down 2#.  I thought,  "Surely he cut off/out more than 2#!"  He did tell me it would be single digits, but of course I was hoping for 8 or 9 -- that's single digits, right?  Well, today doing everything exactly the same way I've been doing for 10 1/2 months I was down 3.2# and I dropped a pant size.

Pretty exciting!!
HW -- 255.8#;  WW/pre-op lost 22.6#; CW -- 152.2#; GW 140#; 103.6# GONE FOREVER!

laura_vermont
on 3/28/11 3:42 am

That's awesome!  I can't wait to see where I'll end up once this swelling goes down (3/10 panniculectomy).  I didn't do well with pain meds, so I dropped 5lbs right after surgery - from not eating - and have bounced back 2 now that I'm eating again.  The surgeon removed 4.5lbs.  Day of surgery I was 128, currently 125.  I'm wearing my binder under my pre-op pants, so I must be down at least 1 size too! 
High Weight 278; consult weight 234; Surgery Weight 219 Surgeon's Goal Weight 150 -10/27/10  -  Personal goal weight 140 - Achieved 12/11/10  

Judith K.
on 3/28/11 4:45 am
VSG on 05/15/10 with
I don't do well w/ pain meds either so I just didn't take them!  I know we're not supposed to take Advil but I did take 3 before bed for about a week.  Don't think it ate a hole in my little tummy.

Did the surgeon weigh what he took off?  I didn't ask my surgeon if he did.  Maybe I'll ask him tomorrow when I see him.