KU residency program? Dr. Ponnuru

Andi190827
on 2/22/12 6:32 am - Fort Leavenworth, KS
 Hi, I'm new to the plastics board though I've been lurking for weeks. My husband is in the army so our insurance is Tricare/TriWest. I've been to 3 PS consults, the last surgeon turned in paperwork to get approved for the panni removal. I was approved! Yeah! But after more research, have since decided not to use that surgeon. He hasnt worked with many massive weigh loss patients.
So my question... After reading this board I found out about Dr. Ponnuru at KU. He is an in network provider so I scheduled a consult with him. It is tomorrow afternoon. Has anyone had work done by Dr. P? And are you happy with your results? Would you mind sharing after pics?
I don't need just a plastic surgeon but a reconstructive surgeon as well, which he is both. I've damaged my skin pretty back all those years being morbidly obese. My pre-WLS weight was 278lbs in July 2007; I got down to 151lbs. I got pregnant and had a baby in 2009 and havn't got back down under 160lbs yet. I hover between there and 165lbs.
Sorry I'm rambling, I do that when I'm excited. But any opinions on Dr. Ponnuru or the KU program would be greatly appreciated!
Andi
aubiefan143
on 2/22/12 4:11 pm - herndon , VA
RNY on 01/26/10 with
Your post is a little confusing. Your question seemed at first to be about the KU residency program, but after reading the whole post it seems like you are asking about the particular Dr himself. If you go through the residency clinic there will be a chief resident performing the surgery under the supervision of an attending physician. If you are looking to have surgery with the Dr himself, then that would not be part of the residency program although he does run the program.

Penny
Highest weight 275 
Surgery weight 241
Goal weight 145
Current
  weight 143 (after TT and Thigh lift)   

Andi190827
on 2/23/12 1:57 am - Fort Leavenworth, KS

Penny,