17 days post LBL, new here, and questions.

Jmbrown081
on 3/5/12 10:02 am
 Hey everyone! This is my first time post here, although I must admit that I have been lurking for a little while. 
I had my LBL with lipo 17 days ago and the surgeon removed 12lbs of extra skin, and tightened my muscles up. Recovery hasn't been too bad so far, and I haven't had any complications. I still have two drains in which are still putting out over 100cc each, and I can't wait until its time to finally have them removed. 
I still have all of the water weight and it's frustrating me to no end. I am still the same weight that I was the day after surgery, and I was wondering if there's anyone else out there who took this long to lose all of the water weight. I am wearing a binder and trying to drink tons of water, but I just can't seem to get the scale to budge.
It also seems like there are a lot of people who have a problem with wound separation. This is my absolute biggest fear, and I was wondering if there is anyone who has had an LBL and NOT had an issue with wound separation.
Right now I just wish I could hit the fast forward button and move ahead a month or so.
Lee ~
on 3/5/12 1:45 pm - CA
 Welcome to the PS board!

I had multiple procedures done almost three months ago.  I didn't have wound separation issues, but I did develop a seroma in my left leg at close to six weeks post op.

Complications do happen and most of the time it's not about what you did or did not do.  When I read that the LBL can open up as far as 10 weeks out, I became really careful about things like turning over in bed.  The compression garments that I wore 24/7 for six weeks really helped.

Are you tracking your sodium?  Be careful with what you eat to help with water weight.  I ate two bowls of watermelon the first two weeks to help flush things out.  I never swelled and that's about all I did that migh help.  I don't eat packaged food because of the sodim.