Off topic- orthopedic problems

godzilla
on 11/28/13 7:48 pm - Israel
Years ago I had an ankle fusion.
Then had my RnY in 2006.
My TT 2011;BR/BL 2012.
I work as a private caretaker ( night shift from 11pm thru until 1pm the next day once or twice a week) for a 92 year old woman who lives by her son and his family. The work is somewhat physical in that there is slaking her to the toilet, showering her and dressing her and screwing a board into her bed like a corral.
Recently I noticed my ankle hurting and throbbing for two hours after I walked home from work; both knees and my left shoulder. The orthopedist examined me thoroughly and sent me for X-rays with a flippant comment that most women my age (50) and size have osteoarthritis. I know this orthopedist since 1990 when my daughter had pelvic surgery and I weighed then 120Kilo.
Since then I had Ring (SRVG and VBG) and in 2008 RnY.
I now weigh 78-80 kilo. I am short at 5ft/152cm and I need to still lose weight but as many of us know, the struggle is a struggle.
I returned to the orthopedist with the X-rays and he says no osteoarthritis and to take magnesium (I take sporadically) and to buy rocker bottom shoes. I get disability and if he writes me a script I get a discount. He days he can't. And then he tells me to lose twenty kilo. He did not really address the problem of the pain in my ankle!
I was mortified! I've lost forty kilo. I still need to lose weight however I do not feel it is within his jurisdiction to tell me HOW MUCH I need to lose. That responsibility would be my GP,dietician or surgeon (surgeon days I am fine where I am and that he looks at health and not only numbers.
I filed a complaint against the orthopedist as I strongly feel he could have spoken to me very differently.
I wrote a about this on a Hebrew forum on FB, spilling out my guts and got bashed really badly by some people that I hesitate to express myself anymore.