NEW-scared and needing support!

crysogo
on 7/3/15 12:27 pm

Hi ALL!

I literally just got my doctor to send a referral to my local WLS center. I am NEW at all of this, however I have been thinking about this decision for at least 2 yrs. I'm tentative because I know I will miss certain things, but overall I also know i NEED to get better at being healthy. I have PCOS and almost every symptom that it causes, I've had it since I was 11. I have been trying for as many years as I can remember to lose weight and in the end my only success was gaining. With fertility treatment (clomid) I am blessed to have a 7yr old boy :) we have never been able to conceive again, but that's ok...Both of my parents have heart diesase, diabetes (type 2) sleep apnea etc, and my predisposal with pcos scares the heck outta me (my doc said I will be lucky to live til 50 if I don't lose weight) Anyways here are my questions;

1. Is WLS worth all the things you miss? do you let go of that?

2. What in your opinion is best WLS for pcos?

3. What should I expect as far as healing goes?

4. How has this effected your marriage (my hubby and i both struggle with weight, he's not interested in wls ) ? 

5. Any ideas for other websites or inspiration blogs etc?

I know its alot- i'm overwhelmed can you tell? TIA!

WereYorkie
on 7/3/15 6:14 pm
VSG on 05/11/15

I will start with question #1--- (I sound blunt... don't take it personal, that's just me)

All the things I miss? Like what? Waking up in the middle of the night incontinent? Waking up in the morning and needing nearly 15 minutes to get out of bed because of the pain in my feet and knees? Not being able to bend over in the shower to shave my legs? Or being barely able to walk a quarter of a mile without having to sit down?

I let all that go long ago when I came to the realization that I wasn't living... I was slowly killing myself from an addiction to food. What I was eating was poison. A slow poison, but a poison nonetheless.