Maybe Prego?

Melissa F.
on 3/26/11 8:07 am - Mountville, PA
Hi All,

I'm new to this section of the board because I'm in NEW territory with this one...  I'm 5 days late and took a test this morning.  Got a faint second line indicating that I'm prego.  I'll be taking a second test tomorrow morning to see if it confirms.  Doctor's office is closed for the day and is closed tomorrow - so can't call to schedule anything quite yet.  I'll be out of town for work all week next week, so unfortunately, I'll have to wait to have a positive yes from the doctor for another week.

So here are my questions (I'm sure MANY more to come):
- I was just about to reorder my vitamins because I'm running out of some of my usuals.  (Normally take 2 multi vitamins, 2 calcium, 1 iron, 1 b12 a day and 1 vit. D once a week).  How do the vitamins normally shift when you're pregnant?  I plan on placing a big order and would like to save on shipping if I can : )

- Would you recommend scheduling with my family doc first and then get referred to an OBGYN?  I currently do not have one.  Once confirmed with my family doc/blood test, I'll call my surgeon's office to see if they'd like me to come in.  I was technically cleared to be physically okay to carry a baby back in Jan.  Our plan was to start actively trying in June when I officially hit 18 months... but, looks like there is a chance life jumped the gun on us by 3 months.  Once it's official, I might allow myself to get excited.

-Based on our WLS, how long are you all waiting to tell people?  I've heard 2-3 months in general.  I'm nervous about miscarriage because of the surgery - although, I am eating close to 1000-1200 calories a day, carbs are up considerably from where they were even 3 months ago and have never had trouble with blood work or anything else.  Not sure I'll be able to hold my tongue and not mention it to anyone, but I'm going to do my best!  (hubby does know : )